The following links and websites provide help on family law in Detroit Michigan.
- Recommended books for people going through divorce
- Michigan Council for Family and Divorce Mediation
Frequently Asked Questions:
- Do I need an attorney?
- How much does it cost?
- What does it cost for the initial meeting?
- Do I need a specific reason to get divorced?/a>
- What is the difference between a contested divorce and an uncontested divorce in Michigan?
- How long does it take to get a divorce?
- Can my spouse and I share an attorney?
- What are the grounds for divorce?
Most people are unfamiliar with procedures to follow in family law matters. The attorneys at Chasnick and Terrasi specialize in family law and will be able to protect your rights. We strongly advise you to consult with us before you take action.
Most law firms charge on an hourly basis. At Chasnick and Terrasi we will handle your divorce and other family law matters on a flat fee basis whenever possible. The amount of this fee varies depending on the complexity of your case. Regardless of the fee we never charge for phone calls, copies or postage.
Boca Raton Business Litigation
What does it cost for the initial meeting?
It does not cost you anything. Unlike many other firms Chasnick and Terrasi will not charge you for the initial meeting. We will give you as much time as you need to explain your case. You will never be rushed nor pressured into signing a retainer.
Michigan is a “No Fault Divorce” state. This means that you are not required to allege “grounds” to receive a divorce in Michigan. It also means that if one spouse requests a divorce, it will be granted regardless of whether or not the other spouse wants to get divorced. In Michigan, your spouse cannot keep you from getting a divorce, although they can make it very difficult and time consuming. Even though fault is not necessary to obtain a divorce, it may be an issue in a divorce when deciding the division of property, spousal support and child custody.
An uncontested divorce is where one party files for divorce and the other party never files an answer. The court then grants a default judgment. Most divorce cases are contested in some way.
In Michigan a judgment of divorce can be entered 60 days after the filing of the action. When there are minor children involved the law requires a waiting period of 180 days.
We do not recommend this. Ethically, an attorney should not represent both parties, as it could be a conflict of interest.
Divorce is a law suit filed by one spouse indicating that the martial relationship has ended. All that is required is for one party to testify that there has been a breakdown of the marital relationship to the extent that the grounds that have been destroyed and there remains no reasonable likelihood that the marriage can be preserved.